松弛软件

主要 网站: 支持 论坛: 生命周期:

Slackware是一个轻量级发行版,旨在类似于UNIX,并且可以与较旧的硬件一起使用。它是自1993年以来由Patrick Volkerding生产的,并且是维护最久的Linux发行版。原始的SUSU是使用Slackware构建的。

松弛软件 14.0

松弛软件

维基百科页面

W http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slackware

信息

选择Slackware之所以命名,是因为它很幽默,而且在该项目尚未普及的时候。这个词也是一个私人玩笑。

当明尼苏达大学的帕特里克·沃尔克丁(Patrick Volkerding)的人工智能老师要求他为计算机实验室使用该OS的版本时,Slackware不仅仅是一个附带项目。后来,Slackware托管在大学服务器上,并从那里迅速发展。

最初,该操作系统向非GUI倾斜,但是如今,可以安装一些桌面,例如Gnome,KDE和其他桌面,并可以通过Internet搜索轻松获得指南。

多年来,Slackware已成为许多其他发行版(例如SUSE)的基础。

Slackware

Main Website: Support Forums: Life Cycle:

Slackware is a lightweight distro designed to be UNIX-like and work with older hardware. It is produced by Patrick Volkerding since 1993, and is the oldest maintained Linux distro. The original SUSU was built using Slackware.

Slackware 14.0 with KDE Desktop

Slackware 14.0 with KDE Desktop

Wikipedia Page

W http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slackware

OS Information

The name Slackware was chosen because it was humorous, and at a time when the project had not become widespread. The term was also a private joke which made reference to the “Church of the SubGenius” meta belief system.

Slackware became more than a side project when Patrick Volkerding's artificial intelligence instructor at the University of Minnesota asked him to produce a version of the OS for the computer lab to use. Later, Slackware was hosted on the universities servers and grew rapidly from there.

Initially the OS was slanted toward non GUI, but today several desktops such as Gnome, KDE, and others can be installed with guides readily available by Google search.

Over the years Slackware has been the basis for many other distros such as SUSE.

Versions